Terrified

Can you see the crinkled paper from where she balled it up and threw it away?

Can you see the crinkled paper from where she balled it up and threw it away?

“Is this alright?” Yoselin came up to my desk and asked. We were writing a ‘quick write’ poem about different emotions and she chose ‘terrified’. This is what I read:

When I was little I had a wild Imagination I would peek from under my covers and it was pitch dark In my room I would Imagine Shadows In the middle of the night I was also very frightened of Monsters under my bed my uncle like he was young he would like to scare me so bad he loved to tease me.

I said that it was fine, we just need to put it in a poem format but at the end of class when we shared Yoselin looked confused and said “Mr Harvey, you know I don’t have a poem.” Not wanting to embarrass her I said she didn’t have to read now but at dismissal I asked her for her writing. Downcast she pointed to the recycling bin and I found it crumbled up in a ball.

After the students left, I sat down and typed up Yoselin’s work in a poetry format. The next day I greeted the class with a poem “I wrote” and wanted their opinion. After some really positive responses, I confessed that I wasn’t the poet and pointed to a slightly embarrassed and incredibly proud Yoselin. See what you think of her poem:

WILD IMAGINATION

When I was little
I had a… Wild Imagination.
I would peek under

My covers and
It was pitch dark.
In my room I would

Imagine Shadows
In the middle of
The night I was also

Very frightened of Monsters
Under my bed.
My uncle

Like when he was young
Would like to scare me
So bad… he loved to tease me.

She has the Power of Poetry and just needed the conventions.

One response to “Terrified

Leave a Reply

