Fruits: An Artist Book

011

An Artist Book by A Harvey

For my daughter Michelle’s birthday I made an artist book around fruit. Her UW degree is in Food & Justice and she’s works for a sustainable farmer’s market in San Francisco. I found a dozen artistic close-ups of different fruits. Each fruit is paired with a haiku and constructed into a modified accordion book inspired by graphic designer Kevin Steele’s Lunacy (http://mrkevinsteele.com/). Kevin did a workshop in Tacoma and says: “One thing I liked about that particular structure is that you can either read the book in a traditional codex manner, page by page, or you can unfold the entire book to reveal all of the pages side-by-side.”

I can’t wait to try this in my classroom; I’m thinking Shakespeare’s Seven Stages of Man and integrating it into the Fall of Rome. I’ll let you know if and when.

Happy 25th Michelle!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment